top of page

"Don't Forget!"

When I went to bed, I expected the Lord to speak. I expected Him to reveal Himself to me in a dream.

As I slept, the Lord said...

“Don’t forget what you wanted to be.” His words rung out in my spirit loud and clear.

When I woke up, immediately I thought of how often we become who, what other people want us to be, ask us to be, and even demand us to be. And in doing so, how we’ve lost ourselves, and have gotten tangled up in other people’s expectations, ideals of who they want us to be.

And I thought about how we’ve lost ourselves time and time again trying to fill their shoes of expectation.

The reality of losing the dream, desire, and hunger to become who the Lord has created us to be reminded me of that person who I had become; who was once buried deep down inside. And the years I spent trying to find my way out. Years of trying to find out who I really was. Years of trying to dig myself out from under all of the hurt, pain, disappointment, and discouragement that I found myself buried in.

I was saddened by the fact that this is the case for many of us: you’ve lost your motivation to dream, your will to become who God has created you to become. Because you too can’t seem to shake the person that you’ve become; the person who‘s buried deep down inside. And the years you’ve spent trying to find your way out, the years you’ve spent trying to find out who you really are, the years you’ve spent trying to dig yourself out from under all of the hurt, pain, disappointment, and discouragement that you’ve found yourself buried in.

And consequently, up until now, we never got the chance to be who we really wanted to be.

Often times, in our search to satisfy that intrinsic hunger of who we were created to be, who God created us to become; that dream that was knitted into the fibers of our beings, somehow we continue to see it. We continue to hope. And something inside whispers, “That’s who I am.”

After a little pondering, I couldn’t help but be reminded of my own dream; the dream that reminds me that only God can do it (because there’s no way I can do it on my own). You know, the dream that’s waaay out of my reach…that impossible dream.

The dream of who I am.

And yet, I’m excited because one thing is clear. The Lord isn’t saying, "Don’t forget..." just to be saying it. (I hope you didn’t miss what I said…“up until now.”)

Because God is getting ready to bring it to pass! He’s getting ready to make it happen….

He has not forgotten you!

My God! I’m sooo excited!

The Lord is saying remember what it is that you wanted to be. He’s saying don’t overlook what it is that you wanted to be, don’t neglect what it is that you wanted to be, and …continuously work towards that.

He’s going to bring it to pass!

You will become all that He has created you to be.

That dream that’s inside of you, that hunger that’s inside of you...He put it there!

He is reminding you…don’t forget! Don’t give up! Don’t lose hope!

Continue to work towards the dream.

God has not forgotten about you!

It will manifest soon.

This is the will of God concerning you.


Follow Us
  • Facebook B&W
  • Twitter B&W
  • Google+ B&W
  • YouTube B&W
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.

© 2014 by Ties That Bind.

bottom of page