top of page

What Are You Afraid Of?

I worked so hard and so long only to run into a road block.

But I’ve worked long enough to know that road blocks won’t stop me. I’m determined and whatever I have to do, I’m going to get it done. All I need is a little encouragement; to step away, take a deep breath, then go back to it later…when I’m no longer frustrated.

But something happened during the night.

There would be no going back to it in the morning. Because the Lord revealed to me that the road block would not be removed. It was there for a reason. And it had nothing to do with trying harder, staying the course, or not giving up.

The road block was there to lead me back to what it was that I was supposed to be doing.

You see, I was doing what I wanted to do; what I was comfortable with. But I wasn't doing what the Lord told me to do.

I had gotten side tracked.

My fear, anxiety, and inadequacy had diverted me from what I was supposed to be doing, to doing what I was comfortable with (and good at).

And yet, they had taken me off course.

And instead of me following Jesus, I was telling Him to follow me: Look, I’m good at what I do. There’s no anxiety, fear, or lack. Everything I need to get the job done – I have. I have the skills. I have the knowledge. I have resources. And there isn’t a challenge that I can’t overcome – I got this!

But what are we really accomplishing if it’s outside of the will of God? If it’s not what He told us to do, what are we really accomplishing?

Nothing!

Time wasted. Skills wasted! Resources wasted! Efforts wasted!

Destiny delayed.

You see, it’s like Paul said, we do the things we’re not supposed to do, and the things that we're supposed to do…we don’t do.

Of course it’s difficult to do things that we’re not familiar with; things that challenge us, and causes us to come face to face with our fear, anxiety, and shortcomings. Of course we’re going to be afraid. Of course there’s going to “what ifs.” And of course there’s going to be some mistakes.

But it’s all a part of the developmental stage. It’s all a part of God developing us to get us to the place where He wants us to be.

Follow Him.

God is in control.

He’s the one who develops the gift; perfects the gift. He determines what we do with the gift (if it’s going to be effective).

The thing He’s telling us to do will challenge us in areas where God will get the glory; not us. The thing He’s telling us to do will result in us having to trust Him to get it done. The thing He’s telling us to do will highlight our lack of confidence because we’re not self-sufficient.The thing He’s telling us to do will constantly question how is this going to happen?

It’ll require us to do something that we’ve never done before, and cannot do…on our own.

That way, only God gets the glory.

What are you afraid of?

What did God tell you to do (that you’re not doing)?

The roadblock is not going to be removed.

God will get the glory out of every fear; every inadequacy and every mistake.

The very thing that we fear is going to be the very thing that God will use to thrust us to the next level.

This is the will of God concerning you.


Follow Us
  • Facebook B&W
  • Twitter B&W
  • Google+ B&W
  • YouTube B&W
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.

© 2014 by Ties That Bind.

bottom of page