top of page

Seed To The Sower

There was a knock on the door. I wasn’t expecting anyone so when I heard the knock I was surprised. The knock was loud and almost thunderous. The knock came with such authority; demanding that the door be opened.

To my surprise it was a box addressed to me. When I opened the box and saw the package inside, I had no idea of what to expect. My initial thought was I hope the Lord was sending me some encouragement. When I opened the package, immediately I got excited.

It was an unexpected blessing!

Unexpected because I had been spending so much of my time focused on the one thing that God was doing in my life. So when the package came, it was a clear indication that God had not only sent me some encouragement, but He had kept His promise.

It was almost as if the Lord was reminding me or assuring me that while it may have seemed that things weren’t moving as fast as I would’ve liked them to move or things weren’t happening the way that I would’ve liked for them to happen, He was working things out on my behalf.

Although there were many days that I struggled and had to encourage myself, the knock on the door was a reminder that He hadn’t forgotten about me. And I could rest assured that He would do just what He said He would do.

As the Lord ministered to me, He reminded me of 2 Cor 9:10 - For God is the one who provides seed for the farmer and then bread to eat. In the same way, He will provide and increase your resources and then produce a great harvest of generosity in you.

Immediately, I couldn’t help but be reminded of how often we miss the blessings of God because we don’t see the blessings that God has for us; because they don’t look like what we think they should look like. And I can’t say it enough; we have to continue to walk by faith and not by sight. We want to be careful that we are not rejecting the blessings of God because they don’t look like what we thought they should look like.

What we’ve failed to realize is that the blessings of God are seeds.

He intentionally gives us seeds because it is our responsibility to produce a harvest.

I’m sure we’ve heard of the analogy of the oak tree. While it is one of the biggest and strongest trees there are, it doesn’t start out as an oak tree – it starts out as a seed.

It becomes our responsibility to plant, water (develop) the seed that He gives us then God will give the increase. He’ll give you even more as you cultivate and develop what He’s given you. That’s the blessing!

The blessing is in the seed!

This is why we miss God’s blessings: We’re looking for an oak tree, when God has given us the seed - inside the seed is the oak tree. Inside the seed is your blessing. The thing you’ve been praying for! Do you know what your seed, your blessing looks like?

He gives the seed to the person who can work the field. If He didn’t think you could produce a harvest, He wouldn’t give you the seed.

What are you going to do with the seed God has given you?

This is the will of God concerning you.

Follow Us
  • Facebook B&W
  • Twitter B&W
  • Google+ B&W
  • YouTube B&W
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.

© 2014 by Ties That Bind.

bottom of page